Unit 4: Summary

In this blog I will be summarizing Unit 4, which will include the following:

  • key points I learned about audio storytelling from the Ira Glass and Jad Abumrad videos
  • the radio story I listened to, making special notes of the techniques I used, and a link to the show I listened to.
  • My ds106 radio listening experience
  • Link to my daily create blog
  • a paragraph on what I learned in this unit and what questions/complaints I have.

Watching the videos about storytelling from Ira Glass and Jad Abumrad allowed me to pick out the key points and what it takes to keep the audience entertained.

From watching the Ira Glass video I have learned 2 key points that he mentioned on how to keep your audience engaged. One of them being ‘Anecdote -‘
What this means is that it needs some sort of sequence of actions. It can be absolutely any type of story as long as its leading from one thing to another. Ira Glass gave us a sequence example as he said, ‘It made me think of this and then I said this.’ As you can see here thoughts and ideas are all part of it but one sequence must lead to another and so on.
The other one is about ‘Raising questions -‘
You want to keep asking questions at your audience to keep them entertained and give them some sort feeling that this story is going somewhere. The question that might pop up here is, how do they do that? Easy, simply by answering them questions along the way, not forgetting to ask another question to grab their attention again.

Listening to Jad Abumrad made me realise that the things that radio lack is what makes radio so cool and different, as it empowered by the absence of images. The radio can then paint images for their listeners by using audio, however the paint brush is being hold by the listeners.

I was asked to listen to the available episodes and decided to listen to ‘How I got into College’. I wrote down the techniques that were used in that episode. I have made a list of techniques and also wrote down the reaction and thoughts in my ‘Listening to stories’ blog.

Techniques:

Music Bed, Voxpops from students, 2 presenters, Sound effects, Pauses (There are different purposes but for this particular episode, it was used to identify the end of the one topic of the story to allow them to move on to the next topic efficiently.)

My #Ds106Radio experience wasn’t the best as I have already said in my ‘listening to ds106 radio’ blog, that I am not the biggest fan of storytelling radio. For this project I was asked to listen to atleast an hour of live #Ds106Radio broadcast. I had to involve my tweeter and tweet #Ds106Radio to show the ‘Zombie free’ radio show that I am listening. I decided not to send my reactions or feedback as I thought it would be useless to send it and not get any type of acknowledgement to tell me that they have seen it or not.

Daily Create

I have learned quite a few thing in this unit. The first thing I have learned was the fact that people use certain techniques and learn the way to keep audience entertained before starting to actually practicing the storytelling voice. Another thing that I gained was the knowledge to know what type of techniques they are using to keep their audience, which allows me to compare this type of radio to others and see which techniques may differ or even be the same.

Leave a Reply

